Photo: Chrissie Trousselot / Antarctic Science Foundation


Our Governance

The Antarctic Science Foundation Ltd is an independent entity registered with the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits-Commission in 2018 and governed by a probono Board of Directors.

Our Board comprises representatives from the private sector, science and government, reflecting the Foundation’s aim to bring all sectors together to raise funds and build partnerships which strengthen research and enhance the protection and understanding of the Antarctic region and its impact on our planet.

The Director of the Australian Antarctic Division and the Chief Scientist for the Australian Antarctic Science Program are observers on the Board, reflecting the close partnership between the two organisations. 

The Executive Director is responsible for the day to day operations of the organisation. She is assisted by the Foundation Development Officer.

The process of selecting the priority research projects for funding is overseen by a science sub-committee of the Board, Chaired by Professor Emma Johnston AO and includes respected Antarctic scientists.